Feb 24

Daylight Savings

Tag: Insanity,Linux,Techerm @ 3:05 pm

Daylight savings … it’s been jacked up.

You know it’s bad enough you have to remember to change your clock. It’s even worse when they change the laws so you legally have to switch it.

I guess it’s a nice little reminder to change the batteries in your smoke alarms, and also the filters in your furnace, but other than that daylight savings seems to be a waste.

Here’s what is so messed up about DST. When I was living in a farming community someone said, the only reason why Daylight Savings exists is so all the bankers can get on the golf course 1 hour early. The story in the city is “It’s so the farmers can get out in the fields earlier.” The truth … it’s because some dumb bureaucrat thinks it’s a good idea with SAD (Seasonal Affective Disorder) want’s more sun. It’s estimated that 20% of the population has SAD. It’s messed up 20%+ of your population may smoke, but we don’t go rearranging our lives for them, in fact we tax, and ostracize them from society, force them to go oustide in -20 degree weather. But that’s off the subject.

If you’re running linux you can run this little command to find out when DST comes into effect.

root@xxx:~$ zdump -v /etc/localtime |grep 2007
/etc/localtime Sun Mar 11 08:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Mar 11 01:59:59 2007 MST isdst=0 gmtoff=-25200
/etc/localtime Sun Mar 11 09:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Mar 11 03:00:00 2007 MDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-21600
/etc/localtime Sun Nov 4 07:59:59 2007 UTC = Sun Nov 4 01:59:59 2007 MDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-21600
/etc/localtime Sun Nov 4 08:00:00 2007 UTC = Sun Nov 4 01:00:00 2007 MST isdst=0 gmtoff=-25200

It’s good to know the people at ubuntu have already taken care of their distro for this. Now when the time comes, the time is right, and I don’t have to worry about it.

Wouldn’t it be messed up if this is what causes a situation similar to what all the ‘y2k’ was supposed to be. I seriously doubt anything major is going to happen, clocks will just be off for an hour 🙂 I’m not sure if my atomic clocks are going to be off, but it’ll be interesting to find out.

I’d laugh really hard if vista/xp machines crashed, it would explain their new logo.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.